Premiere: Watch Felix Da Housecat’s New Video ‘Is Everything OK’

Photo courtesy of Girlie Action

The last time we spoke with legendary DJ/producer/remixer Felix Da Housecat, he was prepping for a monthly residency at Brooklyn’s Verboten. At the time, he was also holding regular gigs in Ibiza and Paris, though his musical playground expanded far beyond just these cities. “Expansive” is actually a perfect word to describe Felix, whose career spans countless genres, decades, and geographical barriers. Nearly a year after our interview with him, the BlackBook favorite is preparing for the release of a new album, Narrative of Thee Blast Illusion, due out July 10 on New York’s No Shame imprint. Unlike a great majority of his past work, this album isn’t necessarily meant for the clubs. Rather, we hear a more fine-tuned focus on melodic initiatives and lyrical content, sometimes exploring more melancholic soundscapes than what we’d expect from Felix. This evolution of sound is hardly accidental — the new work, which we dare call meditative and expressive, took the Chicago native and two-time Grammy nominee roughly three years to make.

Premiering today on BlackBook is Felix Da Housecat’s video for “Is Everything OK,” a spacey track with sticky percussion, robotic vocals, and an uplifting chorus that will get caught in your skull and refuse to leave. It sounds like something that might have come out of Daft Punk’s latest album. The gripping video navigates subjects like social prejudices towards unconventional relationships, or perhaps “unconventional people” (whatever that might mean to you), exemplifying the phenomenon through the lens of a love affair between a female human and her male extra-terrestrial counterpart. About the video, Felix says, “We all goin’ through a lil bit of sumthin;…Ru ok? Fool your Illusion.”

You can check out the premiere below, as well as pre-order Narrative of Thee Blast Illusion, here.

Summer Tour Dates:

Fri Jun 19: Almogavers 86, Barcelona, Spain
Sat Jun 20: Zilvermeer, Mol, Belgium
Sat Jun 27: Pratersauna, Vienna, Austria
Thu Jul 2: Verboten, NYC USA
Fri Jul 3: Temple, San Francisco, USA
Fri Jul 10: Sound Nightclub, Los Angeles, USA
Sat Jul 11: Mamby On The Beach, Chicago, USA
Fri Jul 17: Provocateur, Dubai, UAE
Thu Jul 23: The Day Before Tomorrow, Antwerp, Belgium
Sat Aug 1: Country Club, Porto Rotondo Sardinia, Italy
Wed Aug 5: Paradise Club, Mykonos, Greece
Fri Aug 7: Razzmatazz, Barcelona, Spain
Wed Aug 12: Kitsch, Knokke, Belgium
Sat Aug 15: TivoliVredenburg, Utrecht, Holland
Sat Aug 22: Vista Club, Ibiza, Spain
Thu Aug 27: Nikki Beach, Koh Samui, Thailand
Fri Aug 28: Kyo, Singapore
Sat Aug 29: Ku De Ta, Bali, Indonesia
Fri Sept 4: Bar Rouge, Shanghai, China
Sat Sept 5: Vision, Tokyo, Japan

Latest in Music

Music

BlackBook Premiere: Rozzi’s ‘Orange Skies’ is a Hymn to the Tragedy of the California Wildfires

Music

alexa BlackBook: Fluid Notions: Face to Face with John Cameron Mitchell and Shamir

Music

alexa BlackBook: Casey Spooner Sings About One-Night Stands and Open Relationships on his New Album

Music

alexa BlackBook: Alison Mosshart, Don Lemon, Matthew Modine, Nia Vardalos, Leslie Odom Jr. & More Tell Us Their Christmas Wish Lists

Music

Japanese Rock Star Yoshiki Makes His Classical Debut at Carnegie Hall

Music

Lady Gaga Goes Full-Rodeo in New Single ‘A-Yo’

Music

Mad Decent’s LIZ Unveils Exclusive Mix Tape and Fashion Shoot

Music

DNCE’s ‘Body Moves’ Video Features Lots of Skin and Sweat (Watch)